Wango Films

Monthly Archives: March 2014

Canada Honours its Stars of the Awards Season at Inaugural Celebration in Los Angeles

February 21, 2014, Montreal – Telefilm Canada, the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television and the Consulate General of Canada in Los Angeles, in collaboration with Bell Media and the Toronto International Film Festival, will co-host a tribute celebrating Canadian excellence in the film and television industries. The event will take place in Los Angeles on Thursday, February 27th at L’Ermitage Beverly Hills. The invitees include Canadian Academy Awards nominees, select Canadian Screen Awards nominees, and other high-profile Canadian talent. Academy Award®-nominated filmmaker Norman Jewison (MoonstruckFiddler on the Roof, In the Heat of the Night) will act as Honourary Chair for the event.

This year’s event in Los Angeles marks the first year in which the Academy Awards and Canadian Screen Awards nominees are brought together in a true partnership of Canadian talent. Canada’s key organizations and supporters are joining forces to elevate talent and filmmakers and placing them on a global stage.

“It’s important for the Canadian industry to continue to work together on innovative marketing initiatives, both at home and abroad,” said Carolle Brabant, Executive Director of Telefilm Canada. “This star-studded event will promote the achievements of our talent in the entertainment capital of the world on the cusp of both the Academy Awards and the Canadian Screen Awards. “We’re privileged to have Norman Jewison, an internationally renowned filmmaker and at same time a torchbearer for our country, as Honourary Chair for this inaugural edition.”

Norman Jewison added: “Talent knows no borders, Canadian talent has been embraced by Hollywood since the beginning of motion pictures.”

“This is a wonderful opportunity to showcase Canadian talent and our creative industries and to strengthen relationships between Canada and Los Angeles,” stated James Villeneuve, Consul General of Canada in Los Angeles.  “We are delighted to be a part of the Canada’s Stars of the Awards Season this year”, noted Mr. Villeneuve.

Helga Stephenson, CEO of the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, further added, “The year 2014 will mark the year in which the Canadian industry worked together to support its creators and talent. With the Canadian Screen Awards, we have learned that there is power in numbers, and it is now our country’s turn to stand up and be noticed. We are excited to be able to co-host the event in Los Angeles and support our talent at home and abroad.”

“As Canadians we are known to be humble in our achievements, however it’s important to celebrate our homegrown stars of the film and television industries,” said Piers Handling, Director and CEO of TIFF. ”I’m extremely honoured to be a part of this inaugural tribute.”

According to Kevin Crull, President, Bell Media: “We are pleased to once again play a role in recognizing our homegrown talent and celebrating their success, both in Canada and abroad.”

Talent and filmmakers expected to attend include:

Adam Beach, Adam Korson, Alanis Obomsawin, Ali Liebert, Amanda Plummer, Amy Sloan, Andrew Koyama, Anna Hopkins, April Mullen, Barbara Williams, Benjamin Charles Watson, Beth Pasternak, Billy Riback, Brigitte Bako, Brittany Allen, Caity Lotz, Cara Gee, Carl Bessai, Carl Freed, Chandra West, Chelsea McMullan, Claude Foisy, Colin Doncaster, Colin Keith Gray, Craig Goodwill, Darrin Rose, David Cardwell, David Webb, Dayle McLeod, Dylan Bruce, Ellen Wong, Emmanuelle Vaugier, Frederic Bohbot, Geoff Browne, Heidi Levitt, Hugh Dillon, Huse Madhavji, Jamie Elman, Jamie Spilchuk, Jennifer Finnigan, Jeremy Podeswa, Jeremy Torrie, Jesse Camacho,  Jesse Rath, Jodi Balfour, John Kapelos, Jonathan Keltz, JP Manoux, Karine Vanasse, Katie Boland, Kawennáhere (Devery) Jacobs, Keon Mohajeri, Kerry McPherson, Laura Vandervoort, Laysla De Oliveira,  Levi MacDougall, Liane Balaban, Lochlyn Munro, Luc St.Pierre, Lyndie Greenwood, Malcolm Clarke, Mark Hildreth, Matthew Budman, Meaghan Rath, Megan Park, Meghan Ory, Megan Raney Aarons, Miranda Kwok, Nadia Litz, Nazneen Contractor, Norman Jewison, Pat Kiely, Patrick Gallagher, Paul Campbell, Pom Klementieff, Raoul Bhaneja, Raymond Ablack, Robert Joy, Robert Lantos, Richie Mehta, Roger Frappier, Semi Chellas, Sergio Di Zio, Sheila McCarthy, Sook-Yin Lee, Suzanne Clément, Ted Kotcheff, Tim Doiron, Tim McAuliffe, Tonya Williams, Tracy Dawson, Tricia Helfer, Tyler Johnston, Tyler Labine, Valli O’Reilly, Vanessa Matsui, Vik Sahay, Vinessa Antoine, Wendel Meldrum and Wendy Crewson.

The initiative is made possible with the partnership of Bell Media and the Toronto International Film Festival and with the support of the Motion Picture Association of Canadathe National Film Board of Canada and the Canadian Film Centre.

For more information on Canadian Screen Award nominees click here.

For more information on the Academy Awards nominees click here.

About Telefilm Canada

Telefilm is dedicated to the cultural, commercial and industrial success of Canada’s audiovisual industry. Through its various funding and promotion programs, Telefilm supports dynamic companies and creative talent here at home and around the world. Telefilm also administers the programs of the Canada Media Fund. Visit and follow us on Twitter and on Facebook at

About the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television is a national, non-profit, professional association dedicated to the promotion, recognition and celebration of exceptional achievements in Canadian film, television and digital media. Unifying industry professionals across Canada, the Academy is a vital force representing all screen-based | #CdnScreen14

About the Consulate General of Canada in Los Angeles

The Consulate General of Canada in Los Angeles covers the territory of Southern California, Arizona and Nevada. The Consulate promotes trade and investment, encourages bilateral relations between Canada and the region and works to raise awareness of key issues of importance to Canada and Canadians.